Former referee on Juventus-Roma penalty controversy: “Mkhitaryan used his hand.”

Former referee Luca Marelli has clarified that Henrikh Mkhitaryan had used his hand to direct the ball before Roma got a penalty against Juventus.

There was a lot of controversy in the first half, as Roma got a penalty despite having scored through Tammy Abraham. Jordan Veretout missed the penalty, as the Bianconeri picked up a 1-0 win.

Marelli spoke to DAZN after the game, stating that Roma shouldn’t even have had a penalty because Mkhitaryan had used his hand.

He said: “The assist comes from a touch of the hand of Mkhitaryan, the error of Orsato is less serious than we thought at the beginning. With the right hand, the Armenian has a voluntary touch with his hand to pass it to Abraham. If the advantage had been given to Roma, in any case the VAR would have corrected the decision and given the penalty.”

Juventus are now unbeaten in five games, with now there being just a three point gap between them and Inter ahead of their game next weekend.


More European Football News